Gooey Chocolate Walnut Cookies

Today felt like a cookie day. It was sunny out…but the wind was chilly which meant that I was cold. When I am cold I need to eat something warm… fresh cookies out of the oven are warm and always make me feel better. So that was my excuse and reasoning behind making a mess of the kitchen and creating some delicious cookies!

Image

After searching through both the cabinets and the fridge, I decided I wanted to bake something that would use walnuts, chocolate, and coconut. I am crazy for anything involving the combination of chocolate and coconut. So just mixing up the batter alone was making me so excited for the finished product paired with a glass of soy milk! Yum!

Image

Usually when I bake something sweet I like to centralize my dough around either coconut or almond flour. I love the sweetness and texture these two flours create after the dessert is baked. Not everyone will feel the same way, but in my personal opinion they create a really good and lasting flavor. Also, for the record, I am notorious for mixing flours and using more than one per recipe, so you will definitely see that in some of my future recipes. However, in this particular recipe I solely used almond meal flour, and it complimented the use of walnuts and chocolate really well!

Image


 

Recipe:

 

1 1/2 cups Almond Flour

1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

1/4 cup dark chocolate chunks

3/4 cup walnuts (chopped)

1/2 cup coconut flakes

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 tbsp melted coconut oil

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg (I used egg whites, and they were lovely)

1 tbsp peanut butter

1/2 cup natural applesauce


 

Image

The method is fairly simple, put all the dry ingredients into one bowl, and really intermix everything. For goodness sakes no one wants a cookie with no chocolate chips in it! In a separate bowl mix together all the wet ingredients (maple syrup, vanilla, melted coconut oil, egg, applesauce). Next as you can probably guess, put the wet ingredients into the dry and make the consistency cookie-like, continuing to mix and make sure everything is spread out evenly within the batter. Set the oven for 350 degrees and allow the dough to cool for 30 minutes in the refrigerator. After 30 minutes, form the batter into balls. Lay out your cookies on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes. They should be soft, have a golden brown appearance, and melt in your mouth when they are done.

Image

These were so good, no one hesitated to take more than one when they were done cooling for 10 minutes. My 20 cookies that I baked had been greatly reduced within an hour of baking them (mind you this was before dinner! Eeek!) They were an absolute hit, and were beyond delicious. The flavor and sweetness was absolutely unsurpassed, and the soft gooey cookie had everyone wanting more! Treat yourself this weekend with some Gooey Chocolate Walnut Cookies, they are an instant stress reliever and a happiness booster!

Image

Leave a Reply

