Chocolate Coconut Soft Bars

I have a bit of a problem, I will admit. I am crazy for chocolate. But my other problem, I cannot have gluten and I am lactose intolerant, do other people see these two dietary issues correlating a lot? But guess what, I looove baking and finding/tweaking recipes to where they are yummy and meet my less than ideal diet. Not only that, but I really like the challenge of making desserts and sweets somewhat healthy. Yes, I said somewhat. Aka, using egg whites or beaters instead of the yolks. Or by using a sweeter instead of sugar or applesauce if you want a natural one! Basically there are tons of ways to make sweet treats not as hard on your body. Healthier food, happier body.

  • 4 eggs *I used egg beaters
  • ¾ cup coconut or almond milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla or almond extract
  • ¾ cup sugar *I used splenda sweetener
  • ½ cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup white rice flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca flour
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  1. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, milk, almond/vanilla extract and sugar
  2. In a smaller bowl, combine flours and baking soda
  3. Mix dry and wet ingredients
  4. Stir in ½ cup of the chocolate chips
  5. Grease an 8×8 pan
  6. Pour batter into dish, then sprinkle shredded coconut and remaining chocolate chips on top
  7. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes

Basically, these were delicious, and they were a hit at my house! The texture was moist and they were super chocolatey. These were perfect with a nice glass of soy milk! Yum yum! Also, my pictures don’t show it but if you sprinkle some coconut and chocolate chips on top it would add more texture and be even better in my opinion.

Lastly, I am weird and like my desserts cold, chocolate chip cookies (better cold), peanut M&M’s (the best in the freezer), anything for me, is better when it is cold and the chocolate is solid and not warm. I am not sure why, but that’s always how I’ve loved them. So sometime when you are feeling adventurous, put some cookies in the freezer for 5 minutes before you eat them, you won’t regret it!

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

