Starbucks vs. Local Coffee Shoppes

I’ve come to find out that I am the type of girl that loves to find hidden treasures wherever I am. By this I mean that I am the type of person who would rather find a hidden coffee shoppe, or small local café to have my daily dose of coffee than at Starbucks. Don’t get me wrong, Starbucks is good, and I do indulge in it every once in a while, but there are certain times when small shoppes are just better! Just like there are plenty of times when Starbucks is the only thing that will fulfill my caffeine craving. I do need to add that I read  today that they are secretly making Butterbeer (I am a Harry Potter nut). But to make my point, I have discovered that depending on the mood I am in or what my goals are for the day, determine which coffee shoppe I visit!
Image

Top 5 Reasons to go local and find “hole-in-the-wall” shoppes:

1) Most of the time they are homey. I am not kidding when I say they literally feel warmer and more inviting than any Dunkin’ Donuts or Starbucks is. It is not as packed or nosy, and from my observation, they usually have comfy couches.  

2) The wait usually isn’t as long. If anyone has tried to get Starbucks in the morning before people that are going to work you know exactly how frustrating the wait for coffee can be!

3) There is more freedom to wait around and use the space for arts and crafts of for focusing on studying (or blogging). 

4) You can feel great about supporting local businesses in your community. 

5) Local cafés usually offer more menu items (not just limited to coffee) since the baristas are not as busy as say, a Tim Horton’s.

Image

Top 5 Reasons to go Big:

1) Nutritional content is well-known and listed either on the menu, or in a pamphlet. Maybe you might not think this is a big deal, but you would be surprised how much unnecessary sugar is in some of the drinks, so it’s always smart to be aware of what you are putting in your body! 

2) Larger coffee corporations often times offer Drive-thru’s which can be a huge convince for on the road travel or when you are running short on time.

3) More milk options. Sadly, for those of us that cannot have plain milk, some smaller shoppes don’t readily offer almond or soy milk like the larger businesses have available.

4) Location. If you haven’t noticed, you never really have to search for a Starbucks, it’s getting to the point where they are pretty much covering the map. 

5) Bigger coffee businesses normally have some sort of reward system, much like frequent flyer points. The more you buy the more deals and discounts you get. 

 

Me? Well I think I will always be a sucker for local coffee shoppes. I love supporting small businesses, love the not so busy atmosphere they have, and crave the wide selection of menu items (even if they aren’t gluten free, a girl can still love the smell)! I mean come on…check out that cinnamon roll! Every once in awhile I may indulge in the more well-known coffee chains, but…the majority of the time you can find me in one of the tiny, unique, and artsy shoppes downtown. Image

One thought on “Starbucks vs. Local Coffee Shoppes

  1. Pingback: Gift List #2: Winter Essentials via Urbanne Shoppe | LuluChris58 BloG

Leave a Reply

